CARTERET-CRAVEN ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION

DBA CARTERET-CRAVEN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

80TH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS • OCTOBER 29, 2020

Carteret-Craven Electric Cooperative (CCEC) hosted its 80th annual meeting of the membership remotely on Oct. 29, 2020.

CEO Jake Joplin and CCEC Board President Ben Ball shared highlights of 2019, as well as an overview of the co-op's current activities and future plans.

The meeting also included a video tribute to long-time Director Arland Bell, who passed away in May 2020, and a brief video of the current directors.

The annual meeting is traditionally held in May but was postponed because of the COVID-19 outbreak. The CCEC Board of Directors authorized a remote annual meeting because of the pandemic. This change was allowed by the CCEC bylaws and the Governor's Executive Order. The Credentials and Elections Committee, made up of non-director CCEC members, approved the use of a remote meeting format.

Normally, the annual meeting is where the winners of director elections are announced or, if candidates are running unopposed, are elected with a single vote from the board secretary. In 2020, the candidates ran unopposed. The candidates were: Doug Fulcher, District 6; Anthony Nelson, District 7; and Alvin West, District 9. In accordance with the cooperative's bylaws, the board secretary cast one vote for each of those candidates during the May 2020 board meeting, and that action was announced at the virtual annual meeting.

CCEC members who registered before the October meeting were entered into a drawing for giveaways, including 18 \$75 cash prizes, up to \$1,000 in free electricity, a retired co-op pickup truck and a weekend getaway, provided by Atlantis Lodge and Rucker John's Restaurant.

The winners of \$75 cash were:

Randy Keith Paschal, Bogue; Peter Zambardi, Havelock; John Bell Jr., Stella; James Steven Thrower, Newport; Cherry Hobbs, Cape Carteret; Kenneth Dudley, Maysville; Anna Beckmann, Harkers Island; Roy Donald Lucht Jr., Newport; Gerry L. Humphrey, Cedar Point; Shonie Pavone, Morehead City; Anna Hunt, Havelock; Raphael Pierce, Newport; Sandra and Larry Kearney, Cape Carteret; Gerry Ann Cunningham, Stella; Joseph Clifton Moody, Havelock; Anita Hardy, Peletier; Emma Davenport, Broad Creek; and Rebecca Hiatt, Havelock.

The winner of up to \$1,000 in free electricity was Tyrone Cantey of Havelock. William and Gwen Clubb of Bogue were the winners of the retired co-op truck.

Kenneth and Ronda Allen of Havelock won the weekend getaway provided by Rucker John's and Atlantis Lodge.