CARTERET-CRAVEN ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION

DBA CARTERET-CRAVEN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

81ST ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS • MAY 13, 2021

Carteret-Craven Electric Cooperative (CCEC) hosted its 81st annual meeting of the membership virtually on May 13, 2021.

CEO Jake Joplin and CCEC Board President Ben Ball shared highlights of 2020, as well as an overview of the co-op's current activities and future plans.

The meeting also included a video highlighting two Operation RoundUp funding recipients, BackPack Friends and Hope Mission.

The CCEC Board of Directors authorized a remote annual meeting because of the ongoing pandemic. This change was allowed by the CCEC bylaws and the Governor's Executive Order. The Credentials and Elections Committee, made up of non-director CCEC members, approved the use of a remote meeting format.

Normally, the annual meeting is where the winners of director elections are announced or, if candidates are running unopposed, are elected with a single vote from the board secretary. In 2021, the candidates ran unopposed. The candidates were: Deloria Irby, District 1; Jim Schmitt, District 3; and Fred Fulcher, District 4. In accordance with the cooperative's bylaws, the board secretary cast one vote for each of those candidates during the May 2021 board meeting, and that action was announced at the virtual annual meeting.

CCEC members who registered before the May meeting were entered into a drawing for giveaways, including 18 \$75 cash prizes, up to \$1,000 in free electricity and a retired co-op pickup truck.

The winners of \$75 cash were:

Julia Petlak, Cedar Point; Denise Byrd, Harkers Island; Lyman Holland, Emerald Isle; Richard Jackson, Emerald Isle; Rachel Tyler, Emerald Isle; Jean Rachide, Swansboro; Robert Dunn, Emerald Isle; Susan Brown, Beaufort; Thomas Herring, Beaufort; Elizabeth New, Morehead City; Michelle Oakley, Salter Path; Linda Ellis, Morehead City; Kenneth Ash, Emerald Isle; Anna Lewis, Beaufort; Sherri Best, Newport; Chelsea Pike, Havelock; Camelia Stewart, Emerald Isle; and Roy Grant Jr., Harkers Island.

The winner of up to \$1,000 in free electricity was Donald Clark of Newport. Nicholene Skibo of Newport was the winner of the retired co-op truck.