CARTERET-CRAVEN ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION

DBA CARTERET-CRAVEN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

84th ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS • MAY 2, 2024

The 84th Annual Meeting of the Members of Carteret-Craven Electric Membership Corporation (CCEMC) was held Thursday, May 2, 2024, at Glad Tidings Church, Country Club Road, Morehead City, NC. Registration opened at 4:30 p.m. and member activities included displays and demonstrations, the Carteret-Craven Electric Foundation and food service. The Broad Creek Middle School Jazz Band and the East Carteret High School Chorus provided entertainment prior to the business meeting.

President Anthony Nelson called the business meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. The invocation was given by Glad Tidings Church Children's Pastor Elizabeth Willis. West Carteret High School NJROTC presented the colors, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by Boy Scouts Chase and Troy Finogle. The National Anthem was performed by the East Carteret High School Chorus.

President Nelson introduced program participants and the CCEMC Board of Directors. Members Polly Johns and Karen Willis were recognized as chairs of this year's Nominating Committee and Credentials and Elections Committee respectively. CCEMC Foundation members were introduced and thanked for their service to the cooperative and the community. Also in attendance were Joe Brannan, EVP & CEO, NCEMC; Chris VanLokeren, CIO, NCEMC; Paul Mott, Manager of Government Affairs, NCEMC; John Hellman, Director, Marketing and Technical Services, TEMA; and Senator Norman Sanderson.

Senator Norman Sanderson shared a brief update on the activities in the North Carolina State Legislature.

President Nelson highlighted information from the 2023 financial statement regarding revenues and expenses, new services, miles of line and the return of \$3.6 million in capital credits.

Secretary Lock reported that 502 members had registered for the meeting, which constituted a quorum of members for conducting the meeting.

Secretary Lock announced that the minutes of the 2023 Annual Meeting were mailed to the members in the May edition of Member News. She made a motion that the minutes be approved as written. The motion was duly seconded and carried.

Karen Willis, chair of the Credentials and Elections Committee, declared the registration closed.

CEO Jacob Joplin introduced the Carteret Craven Foundation scholarship winners. Foundation Board President Cindy Meyers and Leigh Ann Jones, Billing Manager and Foundation Liaison, presented plaques to the scholarship recipients in attendance: Andrew Strickland, Steven White, Connor Marsh, Maliyah Hill, and Sarah Salter. Joplin introduced this year's Youth Tour participants: Catherine Mackey and Cadence Castellano. CCEMC Communications Director Melissa Glenn presented awards to this year's Touchstone Sports Scholarship recipients Hayes Coats and Mahlia Alvarez. Joplin then announced the recipient of the Daniel Gooch Memorial UNC Basketball Scholarship: Anthony Collins.

CEO Joplin shared highlights of 2023, as well as an overview of the co-op's current activities including the recent rate adjustment. The meeting included videos highlighting the co-op's Bright Ideas Education Grant program and line technician David Seabolt.

Cooperative Attorney James Norment was made acting chairperson of the meeting. Attorney Norment asked the Secretary to read the Official Notice of the Meeting and attest to its mailing. A motion was duly made, seconded, and carried, to dispense with the reading of the notice. He explained the election process, including the functions of the Credentials and Elections Committee and the Nominating Committee.

Polly Johns, chair of the Nominating Committee, was recognized to present the report of the Committee. Other committee members were Richard Scott, Robert Cox, Cindy Meyers, David Peel and Zach Brewer. The nominees for each district were: District 1, Deloria Irby; District 3, Jim Schmitt; and District 4, Fred Fulcher.

Secretary Lock cast one ballot for each of the uncontested nominees. Attorney Norment declared the ballots properly cast and referred to the Credentials and Elections Committee for final certification. The election being concluded, he relinquished the chair to President Nelson.

There being no further business, President Nelson adjourned the meeting at 7:45 p.m.

Cooperative employee Lynn Salter announced the winner of the Relay for Life 50/50 raffle. Prizes of six months of electricity, a pickup truck and cash were awarded by cooperative employees.